Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

        I’ve never been a big fan of horror.  In fact, I can’t even remember the last time I watched a scary movie.  My overly imaginitive mind should probably have come with a precautionary label, like those for prescription medication:  Warning!  May cause excessively vivid nightmares.  Nor, for that reason, have I read many scary tales.  And yet, unlike the overly gory horror flicks I’ve seen, I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the few scary stories I have read.  There is something so much more powerful in the anticipation that comes from a great read; no trickery through intensifying drum beats or interjected scenes of killer bees necessary (by the way, check out this article on the biology of horror flick music for a new look at some pretty interesting subterfuge).  Two of my favorite creepy tales are The Willows, a short story by Algernon Blackwood, and Stephen King’s The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon.  The eerie yarns that intrigue me most, however, are ghost stories.  There is something ultimately beautiful in the idea of a lost soul grounded by some earthly trap.  So I decided to write one of my own, which ended up rotting in the graveyard of abandoned files on my laptop for a good year, at least.  When World Weaver Press invited me to submit to their anthology of ghostly tales, I dug up those old bones of a story and, not unlike Victor Frankenstein, reworked the story into something new and alive… or, well, maybe not so alive.  You can decide for yourself what you think of it, when Specter Spectacular: 13 Ghostly Tales comes out this fall from World Weaver Press.  I am so excited to be on their list of contributing authors, as the 13th writer listed, no less!

